Expungement of Class C Misdemeanors in Texas

Criminal LawDid you know that, if you have been convicted of a crime in Texas, including a Class C Misdemeanor, that conviction is a part of the public record. That means that anyone can gain access to that record, from a prospective employer or landlord to student aid officials at a college or university. You may also be required to disclose the criminal record when applying for a professional license. All of that can be avoided if you successfully expunge your record. In addition, you may then be able to truthfully tell someone that you have not been convicted of a crime.

In Texas, Class C misdemeanors are the least serious of all misdemeanors. There’s never any jail time associated with a Class C misdemeanor and the maximum fine is $500. Examples of crimes that are charged as Class C misdemeanors include:

  • Theft of an amount less than $50 in value
  • Simple assault
  • Disorderly conduct

In addition, certain alcohol-related crimes, such as minors in possession and public intoxication are typically charged as Class C misdemeanors and may be expunged, even if there was a plea bargain. The same is true for many minor drug offenses.

You may be eligible for expunction of a Class C misdemeanor in Texas if you can show that you have completed all requirements of sentencing, and that you were not convicted of a felony during the five year period prior to your detention on the misdemeanor charge. In Texas, to have your Class C misdemeanor expunged, you must agree to and complete “deferred adjudication probation.”

Contact Us

At the law office of Bailey & Galyen, we provide a free initial consultation to every client. To set up an appointment with an experienced Texas criminal defense attorney, contact us online or call us at 844-402-2992. We will take your call 24 hours a day, seven days a week.