Protecting Your Driving Privileges after a DWI
Experienced Counsel from the DWI Lawyers at Bailey & Galyen
If you are convicted on a DWI charge in Texas, you will lose your driving privileges. The length of your suspension can vary from three months to two years based on the circumstances of your case, including the percentage of alcohol in your blood, as well as the number of times you have been charged with a DWI. In certain circumstances, you can get a limited license to allow you to drive to and from work or to take care of other essential needs. The court does not need to grant you such a license, however. To fully protect your rights, you want strong representation from experienced counsel.
At the law offices of Bailey & Galyen, we have decades of experience protecting the rights of people in Texas who have been charged with DWI. We built our practice on a commitment to personal service and attention, and encourage open communication throughout the process. We will listen carefully to the details of your case so that we can devise a strategy to help meet your needs. We will keep you fully informed of all developments in your case as well as your options so that you can take the right steps to protect your interests.
Our attorneys provide a free initial consultation to individuals charged with DWI. Contact our office by e-mail or call us at one of the numbers listed below to set up an appointment.
When You Face the Loss of Your Drivers License
To protect your driver’s license after a DWI charge, you must ask for an administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days of the receipt of notice of suspension or revocation. The sooner you contact us, the sooner we can start gathering evidence and information to present to the administrative law judge at the hearing. Contrary to popular belief, you can obtain a ruling from the judge reinstating your license, but you must act swiftly and work closely with competent counsel.
When appropriate, we will ask the judge to fully reinstate your driving privileges. However, if circumstances indicate that this is unlikely, or if we get to the hearing and are advised that the judge will not reinstate your license, we will seek an occupational license allowing you to drive for limited purposes, such as going to and from work or school, buying groceries, or attending to other life necessities.
Contact Skilled Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer
For your convenience, we answer our phones 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Evening and weekend meetings can be arranged upon request. To set up a free initial consultation, email us. Se habla Español.