Driving With A Suspended License in Texas
In the state of Texas, driving with a suspended license (DWLS) or invalid license (DWLI) is against the law. Like a DWI, it is considered a class B misdemeanor. A fine of $100-$500 applies in addition to a possible jail time of 72 hours to 6 months. If a prior DWLS/DWLI conviction exists, then it becomes a class A misdemeanor, meaning the driver could face up to one year in jail in addition to fines up till $4000. Surcharges will also apply.
What Can Cause My License to Be Suspended in Texas?
In the State of Texas your driver’s license can be suspended for many reasons. Among them:
- Automatic Suspension – If you are convicted of criminally negligent homicide involving a vehicle, fleeing or eluding police in a vehicle, leaving the scene of an accident with injuries or death, or DWI.
- Suspension for Habitual Traffic Offenses – If you convicted of four or more moving violations such as speeding on one year, or seven or more in two years.
- Suspension Due to A Serious Accident – If you are found responsible for a crash that resulted in serious injuries or death to another person.
Your license could also be suspended if you fail to keep your car covered with the proper insurance, or if you do not keep up with your child support obligations as ordered by the family court.
Contact Us Today
For your convenience, we answer our phones 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Evening and weekend meetings can be arranged upon request. To set up a free initial consultation, call us today at 844-402-2992 or contact us online. Se habla Español.
At Bailey & Galyen, we provide comprehensive legal counsel to individuals across Texas including Arlington, Bedford, Burleson, Carrollton, Dallas, Fort Worth, Grapevine, Houston, Mansfield, Mesquite, Midland/Odessa, Plano, Texarkana and Weatherford.