Texas Occupational Drivers License
Contact the DWI Lawyers at Bailey & Galyen
Simply being charged with a DWI in Texas will automatically lead to the suspension of your driving privileges. You can request a hearing within 15 days of receipt of notice of the suspension, where the administrative law judge can order the full suspension of your privileges, reinstate your driver’s license, or issue you a limited driver’s called an occupational drivers license (ODL), which will allow you to drive to and from work or school, or to take care of basic necessities such as doctor’s appointments or buying groceries.
At the Law Offices of Bailey & Galyen, our attorneys have years of experience protecting the rights of people who have been charged with DWI. We will advocate for you throughout the process, including during the administrative license revocation (ALR) hearing. We built our reputation on a commitment to personal service and attention, taking the time to listen carefully to your needs and concerns so that we can identify and implement solutions that meet your goals. We will keep you continually apprised of developments in your case as well as your options so that you can make informed decisions that are in your best interests.
Helping You Secure an Occupational Drivers License
Whether you have been charged with a first offense or as a repeat offender, you may be able to obtain an occupational driver’s license based on need. The license will carry significant restrictions, allowing you to drive only for good cause, including to and from work or school, medical appointments, places of worship, and other necessary non-recreational locations.
If you have been charged with a first-offense DWI, you must wait 30 days from the date of your license’s suspension to request an ODL. For second-time offenders, the waiting period is 90 days. With two or more DWI convictions in five years, you must wait for one year. Three or more convictions render you ineligible for an ODL.
In addition to the restrictions on where you may go, the court can also order a restricted interlock device. This device has a breath alcohol analyzer attached to the vehicle and will require that you blow into the device before you start the car. If your BAC exceeds a certain level, the car will not start.
Contact Skilled Texas Criminal Defense Lawyer
For your convenience, we answer our phones 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Evening and weekend meetings can be arranged upon request. To set up a free initial consultation, email us or call us at 844-402-2992. Se habla Español.
At Bailey & Galyen, we provide comprehensive legal counsel to individuals facing a potential DWI across Texas including Arlington, Bedford, Burleson, Carrollton, Dallas, Fort Worth, Grapevine, Houston, Mansfield, Mesquite, Midland/Odessa, Plano, Texarkana and Weatherford.