If you have been injured a car accident, truck wreck or motorcycle crash in Texas, you have a right to pursue benefits through an insurance provider or in a personal injury lawsuit. However, if you’ve never been involved in a lawsuit before, the American Civil Justice System can be a bit overwhelming. Here are some fundamental concepts to understand, so that you don’t make mistakes that jeopardize a claim.
Make Sure You Contact an Attorney as Soon as Possible
There are at least two good reasons to do this:
- The longer you wait, the greater the risk that evidence will be lost. Witnesses may move or die, and memories can fade. In addition, physical evidence can deteriorate or be misplaced. The sooner you act, the better the chance that your lawyer will take necessary steps to safeguard critical evidence.
- The Statute of Limitations may expire—In Texas, as in other states, you have a limited amount of time (two years for the date of the car accident) to file your claim, or it can be forfeited. This law is known as the Statute of Limitations, and serves a number of purposes.
Your Rights Regarding Insurance Benefits
Texas is an “at-fault” jurisdiction with respect to automobile insurance. This means that, in the aftermath of a motor vehicle accident, you can file either a personal injury lawsuit or an insurance claim against the at-fault driver. There are minimum coverage amounts mandated by Texas law–$30,000 for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. Texas does not require uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, but it can be purchased voluntarily.
At the law office of Bailey & Galyen, we provide a free initial consultation to every client. To set up an appointment with an experienced Texas Personal Injury Attorney, contact us by e-mail or call our offices at one of the convenient locations listed below. We will take your call 24 hours a day, seven days a week.